2017 Lakeside Tournament Preview



GTBL Ready To Go – IN/OUT

download (2)

Written By Rev

The 2017 GTBL season expects to be another good one, as six teams will battle in competition for the Alex Stanley Championship Trophy. The Thornhill Reds are the league’s defending champions, and have captured three of the last four league titles. The restructured playoffs will now be three rounds of series, and no longer a year end tournament. Also on tap for 2017 will be the return trip of the LMBQ, who will visit Toronto the first weekend of June. Leaside, East York and Thornhill will play host to St. Jean, Ottawa, and Shawinigan, who will make the drive west from Quebec.



The following is a list of most transactions that took place over the offseason.




– Mike Arsenault(LHP), veteran lefty joins Bulldogs part time

– Dustin Lawson(RHP), one time GTBL K leader returns from a stint in the military


– Brad Bedford(OF)

– Brian MacDonald(OF), work contract may take next two seasons away Continue reading

Thornhill 2016 GTBL Champs

The Thornhill Reds are the 2016 GTBL champions, after a 5-2 win in Pickering on Wednesday night. It’s the third Alex Stanley Memorial Trophy in four years for the Reds, who won back to back titles in 2013 and 2014.
Chadwick Cameron worked five innings for the decisive win, while rookie right hander Josh Appel faced the minimum over two innings of work, striking out four to notch the save. A key two run single off the bat of Reds left fielder Russ McGibbon in the fifth inning, put the game away for Thornhill, as the Red Sox were unable to make up the difference on the final night of GTBL play.
The Reds will move on and represent the GTBL in the first ever GTBL/COBA post season champions series. Thornhill will play the Erindale Cardinals a best two out of three series on September 10 and 11 at Centennial Park. Times and schedule will be posted as soon as they are finalized.

Continue reading

Senior OBA’s 2016



Sr Eliminations Round 3 Results & Round 4 Pairings

Windsor Stars eliminated Oakville 9-2
Niagara eliminated Milton 4-3
Leaside eliminated Burlington 6-4
Bolton eliminated Ilderton 3-2
Mississauga eliminated Erindale 10-0
Brampton defeated Etobicoke 5-1
Strathroy defeated Pickering 10-0
Tecumseh defeated East York 1-0

Round 4 Pairings

Windsor Stars  vs. Niagara  9:30
Leaside vs. Bolton 9:30
Mississauga vs. Etobicoke 9:30
Pickering vs. East York 9:30
Brampton vs. Strathroy  12:15 pm
Tecumseh has the BYE



Senior Eliminations Predictions

Written by Ontario Senior Baseball Blog

2016 Eliminations Predictions



ROUND ONE (BYE: Brampton)


  1. Oakville (Gord Robertson) 4 vs. Etobicoke (Andrew Hyde) 6
  2. Burlington (Ryan Colling) 7 vs. Martingrove (Adam Frydman) 3
  3. Bolton (Andrew White) 1 vs. Windsor (Chris Renaud) 8
  4. Strathroy (Matt Cook) 2 vs. Newmarket (Victor Simon) 4
  5. Pickering (Mark Cheeseman) 4 vs. WAA (Jeff Parker) 3
  6. Niagara (Dylan Perego) 1 vs. Ilderton (Jordan Townshend) 3
  7. Tecumseh (Chris Horvath) 8 vs. Milton (Ian Zettle) 4
  8. Thornhill (Chadwick Cameron) 3 vs. Mississauga SW (Jordan Petruska) 5
  9. Leaside (Jorge Frugoni) 8 vs. Erindale (Brendan Fox) 5
  10. Sarnia (Mike Damchuk) 0 vs. East York (Jeff Gibbs) 2


ROUND TWO (BYE: Etobicoke)


  1. Oakville (Matt Reagan) 13 vs. Martingrove (Mike Bannon) 7
  2. Bolton (Zack Riddell) 1 vs. Strathroy (Brandyn Agnew) 7
  3. WAA (Cody Gillis) 2 vs. Niagara (Justin Ayles) 6
  4. Milton (Damian Clarke) 2 vs. Thornhill (Josh Appel) 7
  5. Erindale (Andrew Mullin) 9 vs. Sarnia (Nick Baljeu) 6
  6. Brampton (Mike Burke) 9 vs. Burlington (Cam Ryerson) 5
  7. Windsor (Adam Myers) 4 vs. Newmarket (Brad Crone) 2
  8. Pickering (Jordan Vecchiarelli) 10 vs. Ilderton (Leo LaBine) 2
  9. Tecumseh (Joel Pierce) 3 vs. Mississauga SW (Billy Hurley) 4
  10. Leaside (Andrew Morales) 3 vs. East York (Mark Sikorski) 4

Continue reading